Review Wednesday – Poetic Rituals by Ritu Bhathal

img_1865I enjoy reading funny or clever verse, mostly on the internet, in blog posts etc, when I come across them,  but books of poetry are rarely my thing.

I ‘picked up’ an ecopy of Poetic Rituals when it was discounted because it’s something different and an easier read in between fat novels and autobiographies.

It is really great to open a book and be surprised in every good way by the contents. I read through the poems at one sitting, delighted with each one to the next. They reminded me in some ways of Pam Ayres work; witty, funny, poignant, some slightly tongue-in-cheek. What impressed me most was their unfailing observations of family life, relationships and the frustrations of daily life. One is about not being able to get a printer to link to a computer – I could wholly identify with that one!

Read this book, raise a smile and even a little tear. This is a lovely read!

 

12 thoughts on “Review Wednesday – Poetic Rituals by Ritu Bhathal

  1. Pingback: Guest author Ritu Bhathal – My Winding Journey To Get Back To School | Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

  2. Pingback: Guest author: Ritu Bhathal – New old friends | Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Leave a Reply

