Review Wednesday – Rivers of London by Ben Aaronovitch

img_1917It seemed like a while ago I was seeing this title and it’s fantastic cover everywhere, but it took me a while to get around to reading it because this is definitely not my genre.

Peter Grant has just completed his police training and is waiting to be assigned to a dept. Things are not looking good for Peter; it seems like he might be destined for a desk for the rest of his working life. But out on patrol he questions a witness to a bizarre murder (the witness is pretty bizarre too!) and his career path is suddenly set. There is a whole branch of the Metropolitan police that Grant has never heard of and he is their newest recruit.

I did struggle a bit with the story; as I had thought I would. There were just too many ghosts and fantastic figures for me. However, I did very much enjoy Peter Grant’s great ‘voice’ his dry, witty observations and the tour of London into the bargain. There were laugh out loud moments from some great lines. It is a fantastic book, just maybe a little too fantastic for me but obviously won’t be for many readers.

Strangely, I think I will read more book in this series and that is a great compliment to this author because even though I am not comfortable with this genre he has created a truly memorable character with a wonderful voice. Oh, and the Audible narration was outstanding.

One thought on “Review Wednesday – Rivers of London by Ben Aaronovitch

Leave a Reply

