Review – A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens

img_1948Every year, in the run up to Christmas, I always seem to manage to see some old, film version of this great Christmas story. It’s there in the background, the Bah Humbug! and the Bless us One and All, while I am wrapping gifts or preparing food.

This year has been a little different. Terrestrial TV has become almost a thing of the past for me so I was delighted when Audible offered a free version of the story starring Derek Jacobi and Miriam Margoyles, amongst others. No matter how many times I hear this story, I love it. It is as much a part of Christmas as Christmas pudding. This production is excellent, I have had my fix for this year and I see that this is still offered free on Amazon today!  Thank you, Audible!

6 thoughts on “Review – A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens

  1. amo

    Love the Christmas Carol. I haven’t watched one this year yet (I’ve got about five different versions on DVD); thanks for the reminder!
    But I did just re-read (i.e. listen to via Librivox) “The Cricket on the Hearth”, which, while not being a Christmas story precisely, is a winter story. It’s another lovely tale, very much in the spirit & style of CC. There’s even a Scrooge-like character who experiences a change of heart.
    Anyway, Merry Christmas to you!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

